Using the Snowflake Connection Manager

The Snowflake Connection Manager is an SSIS connection manager component that can be used to establish connections with Snowflake.

To add a Snowflake connection to your SSIS package, right-click the Connection Manager area in your Visual Studio project, and choose "New Connection..." from the context menu. You will be prompted the "Add SSIS Connection Manager" window. Select the "Snowflake" item to add the new Snowflake connection manager.

New Connection

Add Snowflake Connection

The Snowflake Connection Manager contains the following two pages which configure how you want to connect to Snowflake.

  • General
  • Advanced Settings

General page

The General page on the Snowflake Connection Manager allows you to specify general settings for the connection. 

Snowflake Connection Manager

Account

The Account option allows you to specify the Snowflake account you will be connecting to.

Region

The Region option is a drop-down list which allows you to pick the AWS or Azure Region of your Snowflake instance.

User

The User option allows you to specify the username you will be using to connect to your Snowflake instance.

Password

The Password option allows you to specify the password of your user account.

Role

The Role option allows you to specify the role which your user will be connected as.

Warehouse

The Warehouse option is a drop-down list which allows you to pick one of the Snowflake warehouses available in your Snowflake instance.

Test Connection

After all the connection information has been provided, you may click the Test Connection button to test if the connection settings entered are valid.

Advanced Settings

The Advanced Settings page on the Snowflake Connection Manager allows you to specify some advanced and optional settings for the connection.

Snowflake Connection Manager

Proxy Mode

Proxy Mode option allows you to specify how you want to configure the proxy server setting. There are three options available.

  • No Proxy
  • Auto-detect (Using system configured proxy)
  • Manual
Proxy Server

Using Proxy Server option allows you to specify the name of the proxy server for the connection.

Port

The Port option allows you to specify the port number of the proxy server for the connection.

Username (Proxy Server Authentication)

Username option (under Proxy Server Authentication) allows you to specify the proxy user account.

Password (Proxy Server Authentication)

Password option (under Proxy Server Authentication) allows you to specify the proxy user's password.

Note: The Proxy Password is not included in the connection manager's ConnectionString property by default. This is by design for security reasons. However, you can include it in your ConnectionString if you want to parameterize your connection manager. The format would be ProxyPassword=myProxyPassword;  (make sure you have a semicolon as the last character). It can be anywhere in the ConnectionString.

Timeout (secs)

The Timeout (secs) option allows you to specify a timeout value in seconds for the connection. The default value is 120 seconds.

Ignore Certificate Errors

This option can be used to ignore those SSL certificate errors when connecting to the target server.

Warning: Enabling "Ignore Certificate Errors" option is generally NOT recommended, particularly for production instance. Unless there is a strong reason to believe the connection is secure - such as the network communication is only happening in an internal infrastructure, this option should be unchecked for best security.

Retry on Intermittent Errors

This is an option designed to help recover from possible intermittent outages or disruption of service so the integration does not have to be stopped because of such temporary issues. Enabling this option will allow service calls to be retried upon certain types of failure. A service call may be retried up to 3 times before an exception is fired. Retries occur after 0 seconds, 15 seconds, and 60 seconds. Warning: although we have carefully designed this feature so that such retries should only happen when it is deemed to be safe to do so, in some extreme occasions, such retried service calls could result in the creation of duplicate data.